About the IVR

IVR Development

IVR development was led by the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP) at the University of Minnesota, with financial support from the Wellcome Trust. A steering group and a global taskforce of subject matter experts provided a wide range of knowledge and experience in influenza vaccines R&D.


Steering Group

Joseph Bresee, MD, Task Force for Global Health, USA

Christopher Chadwick, PhD, MSPH,1 World Health Organization, Switzerland

Martin Friede, PhD, World Health Organization, Switzerland

Bruce Gellin, MD, MPH,2 The Rockefeller Foundation, USA

Josie Golding, PhD, Wellcome Trust, UK

Peter Hart, PhD, Wellcome Trust, UK

Rosalind Hollingsworth, PhD,3 Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, USA

Stacey Knobler, MSc,1 Sabin Vaccine Institute, USA

Ann Moen, MPA,4 US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, USA

Sonja Olsen, PhD,5 US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, USA

Michael Osterholm, PhD, MPH, University of Minnesota, USA

Diane Post, PhD,6 National Institutes of Health, USA

Divya Shah, PhD,7 Wellcome Trust, UK


CIDRAP Core Project Staff

Meredith Arpey, MPH, Research Assistant

Lauren Bigalke, MPH, Research Associate

Anje Mehr, MPH, Research Specialist

Kristine Moore, MD, MPH, Medical Director and IVR Project Director

Julie Ostrowsky, MSc, Research Associate

Angela Ulrich, PhD, MPH, Assistant Professor and IVR Research Scientist

Jim Wappes, Editorial Director


Taskforce Members

William Ampofo, PhD, University of Ghana, Ghana

Ed Belongia, MD,1 Marshfield Clinic Research Institute, USA

David Brown, MBBS,1 Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (FIOCRUZ), Brazil

Wendy Barclay, PhD,8 Imperial College London, UK

Marco Cavaleri, PhD, European Medicines Agency, The Netherlands

Cheryl Cohen, PhD, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Benjamin Cowling, PhD, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR, China

Rebecca Cox, PhD, University of Bergen, Norway

Amanda Glassman, MSc,1 Center for Global Development, USA

Swati Gupta, PhD, MPH,1 International AIDS Vaccine Institute, USA

Ian Gust, AO, MD, University of Melbourne, Australia

Scott Hensley, PhD,1 University of Pennsylvania, USA

Bruce Innis, MD, PATH Center for Vaccine Innovation & Access, USA

Irina Isakova-Sivak, PhD,1 Institute of Experimental Medicine, Russia

Kari Johansen, MD, PhD,1 European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (retired), Sweden

Gagandeep (Cherry) Kang, MBBS, MD, PhD, Christian Medical College, India

Eric Karikari-Boateng, MPharm,1 Food and Drugs Authority, Ghana

Jacqueline Katz, PhD,8 US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (retired), USA

Yoshihiro Kawaoka, DVM, PhD,8 University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA

Florian Krammer, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, USA

John CW Lim, MBBS, MS,1 Duke-National University of Singapore Medical School, Singapore

John McCauley, PhD,1 Frances Crick Institute, UK

Janet McElhaney, MD,1,9 Health Sciences North Research Institute, Canada

Richard Pebody, MBChB, PhD,1 World Health Organization, Switzerland

Punnee Pitisuttithum, MD, Mahidol University, Thailand

Rino Rappuoli, PhD,1 National Institute for Pandemic Preparedness, Italy

Tiago Rocca,1 Instituto Butantan, Brazil

Meta Roestenberg, MD, PhD,1,10 Leiden University, The Netherlands

Larisa Rudenko, MD, PhD, DSc,8 Institute of Experimental Medicine, Russia

Stacey Schultz-Cherry, PhD,1 St Jude Children’s Research Hospital, USA

Ethan Settembre, PhD,1 Seqirus, USA

Yue-Long Shu, PhD,1 China Center for Disease Control and Prevention, China

Marilda Siqueira, PhD,8 Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (FIOCRUZ), Brazil

James Southern, PhD,1 Adviser to South African Health Products Regulatory Authority, South Africa

Kanta Subbarao, MBBS,1 Doherty Institute, Australia

John S. Tam, PhD,1 Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong SAR, China

Rajeev Venkayya, MD,1 Aerium Therapeutics, USA

Jerry Weir, PhD, Food and Drug Administration, USA



1 New Taskforce member for the IVR implementation phase
2 Previously with the Sabin Vaccine Institute (USA)
3 Since Mar 2021; previous BMGF representatives were Padmini Srikantiah, MD, MPH; Francesco Berlando Scorza, PhD; and Janet White, MBA
4 Steering Group member through Dec 2022
5 Steering Group member as of Jan 2023
6Taskforce member for the development phase; joined the Steering Group for the implementation phase
7 Steering Group member for Jan 2021 through Aug 2021
8 Member of the IVR Taskforce for the development phase; retired
9 In memoriam, Dr. Janet E. McElhaney, 1954-2021; Scientific Director, Health Sciences North Research Institute, Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
10 Member of the IVR Taskforce for the implementation phase; retired